Marc McConnell

Chairman, Mr. McConnell joined the Sound Board of Directors in 2017.  Mr. McConnell serves as Chairman of Art’s-Way Manufacturing Co., Inc.  He is also President of Bauer Corporation of Wooster, OH, and Vice-Chairman of McConnell Holdings, Inc. of Kinston, NC, among other business interests.

Eric J. Bergevin

Mr. Bergevin is President/CEO of West Town Bank & Trust, President/CEO of West Town Bancorp and CEO of Sound Bank; Mr. Bergevin’s prior experience includes: President/CEO and lead organizer of Albemarle Bank & Trust; Founder and Owner of New Vision Mortgage; President of Anova Financial Corporation; Senior Vice President & Chief Operating Officer of OBA Bank.  Mr. Bergevin joined the West Town Bank & Trust Board of Directors in 2009, West Town Bancorp Board of Directors in 2016 and Sound Bank Board of Directors in 2017.

James J. Kemp, Jr.

Attorney; Founder and Partner in the law firm of Kemp & Grzelakowski, Ltd.; Mr. Kemp’s prior experience includes General Counsel to the Illinois Commission of Savings and Loan Associations.  Mr. Kemp joined the Sound Bank Board of Directors in 2017.

Joseph T. Snyder

Founder and President of Snyder Insurance and Financial Services. Mr. Snyder joined the Sound Bank Board of Directors in 2017.


David Wicklund

David Wicklund is the Director of Advisory Services at Plansmith Corporation.  He provides asset/liability management consulting and training services to banks, regulators, and trade groups.  Formerly, he was a Senior Bank Examiner and Capital Markets Expert with the FDIC where he led exams, developed training materials, and authored articles on liquidity and interest rate risk management.  Mr. Wicklund joined the Sound Bank Board of Directors in 2017.   

Jimmy E. Stallings

Retired; Founder of the Chowan Agency, a Farm Bureau Insurance company specializing in health, auto, home and life insurance, which grew to a multi-million dollar agency.  Mr. Stallings has been very active in both local and state industry organizations, has received many industry awards and designations including Life Underwriters Training Council Fellow (LUTCF).  Mr. Stallings has served on the Edenton Town Council for many years, having first been elected in 1999.  He currently serves as Mayor Pro Tem. Mr. Stallings also serves on the Edenton Chowan Partnership, a group of business leaders formed to promote economic development and growth for the county and the town.  Mr. Stallings joined the Sound Board of Directors in 2017.

Sandra Warren

Sandra Warren is a native of Pitt County and owner of Executive Personnel Group.  A regional staffing and employment service, Executive Personnel Group has 8 offices in North Carolina as well as placement contracts nationwide.  Ms. Warren manages the day to day operations and employs over 5000 employees annually.  Executive Personnel Group has operated in North Carolina since 1999.  Ms. Warren joined the Sound Bank Board of Directors in 2017.

Jeffrey K. Moore, M.D., A.A.O.S.

Jeffrey Moore is a graduate of Duke University and the University of Maryland School of Medicine. He completed his Orthopedic Surgery education as Chief Resident at the Geisinger Medical Center. Dr. Moore trained at the Alfred I duPont Institute for Crippled Children and has been Board Certified since 1991 by the American Board of Orthopedic Surgery, with voluntary Board Recertification in 2001. He is an Active Fellow in the American Society of Orthopedic Surgeons and is a member of several orthopedic and Medical Societies. He is a Sound Bank founding Board Member.

K. Dean Wagaman

K. Dean Wagaman, owner and President of Kurtis Chevrolet in Morehead City, has been in the automobile business since 1975.  He is also the President of Chevrolet Lincoln Volvo of New Bern, Kia Mazda of New Bern, Lookout Ford in Morehead City and he is the Vice President of Mike Toler Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Fiat in Morehead City.   He has served on various local and regional boards including the Carteret County Economic Development Council, the Carteret County Chamber of Commerce, the Morehead City Noon Rotary, the Chevrolet Regional Dealer Council and the North Carolina Auto Dealers Association. He is a recipient of the General Motors Mark of Excellence Award.  Mr. Wagaman is a founding Board Member of Sound Bank.

Malcolm C. Garland

Mal Garland is founding Chairman of Sound Bank.  Mr. Garland has been an executive officer of several banks and has served on the Boards of five different banks.  He has also been the CEO of a commercial real estate development company and has been a consultant to numerous community banks.  Mr. Garland was a Captain in the United States Marine Corps, and led tank infantry units in Vietnam.  He holds AB and MBA degrees from Harvard University.

Randy Ramsey

Randy Ramsey is the founder and President of Jarrett Bay Boatworks. He is also Vice Chairman of the North Carolina System Board of Governors.  Mr. Ramsey joined the Sound Bank Board of Directors in 2001.

Dolores Lare

Mrs. Lare has more than 35 years of banking experience.  Prior to joining Patriot, Mrs. Lare served as Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President for Continental Bank Holdings, Inc. from 2005 through 2015.  In that role she was responsible for information technology, risk management, marketing/product development, human resources, loan servicing, compliance, facilities and security. Mrs. Lare earned her BS degree in Business Administration from St. Joseph’s University and her MS in Organizational Management from the University of Phoenix.